Frosty grabs his first pepsi podium

7 April 2013

Frosty finishes 3rd

Ford's Pepsi Max Crew driver Mark Winterbottom has claimed his first podium in Pepsi Max colours after an entertaining drive to third place in the first ever 60/60 Super Sprint V8 Supercars race.

Mark held off a challenge from Jason Bright and almost got Jamie Whincup for second and overall was pleased with the pace and handling of his car.

Will finished close behind in sixth and battled hard with Bright and Garth Tander throughout.

While not as happy as Frosty with his performance he has moved into second in the points.

Mark Winterbottom - #5 Pepsi Max FPR Ford:
Qualifying: 3rd 
Race: 3rd 
"Overall the car felt great today and I really just need one area sorted. If we can address that overnight I think we will be on the money tomorrow. It was good to get on the podium and I think had we qualified better and been in the lead we would've had the pace to win. We need to qualify better tomorrow and from the front we will be much stronger. It's good to be on the podium and it has been a pretty good day for the team."

Will Davison - #6 Pepsi Max FPR Ford:
Qualifying: 6th 
Race: 6th 
"We had a good points haul today and I really enjoyed the format as it produced hard and aggressive racing. We came out with a straight car which is important and I made strong progress from yesterday so I'm happy. I was fifth in leg one and was happy with my effort though on the restart I lost a bit of ground and from then on I found it hard to pass as all the cars are so close in the top group. We are showing some good signs but there are some things we need to sort tonight and if we can qualify up front we can fight for the win."

Tim Edwards FPR Team Principal: 
"We were really encouraged by our race pace today and Mark deserved his podium finish after an intelligent drive. Will drove a similarly solid race but just wasn't quite as happy with his car so with a bit of work tonight I think they will both be in the hunt tomorrow."

1) Fabian Coulthard Brad Jones Racing
2) Jamie Whincup Triple Eight
3) Mark Winterbottom Pepsi Max Crew FPR
4) Jason Bright Brad Jones Racing
5) Garth Tander - HRT
6) Will Davison Pepsi Max Crew FPR

Back to news